Fastcase Announces 2016 “Fastcase 50” Award Winners

Honors 50 Innovators, Visionaries, and Leaders in Law


WASHINGTON, DC (July 13, 2016) – Legal publisher Fastcase today announced the company’s annual list of “Fastcase 50” award recipients. Selected from online nominations, the award recognizes 50 of the smartest, most courageous innovators, techies, visionaries, and leaders in the law.

View the 2016 winners at

Created in 2011, the Fastcase 50 has honored a diverse group of lawyers, legal technologists, policymakers, judges, law librarians, bar association executives, and people from all walks of life. In many cases, honorees are well known, but in many others, the award recognizes people who have made important, but unheralded contributions.

“Every part of the legal market is changing right now – from law school through every part of the practice,” said Fastcase CEO Ed Walters. “That change can be daunting or discouraging to many people. And that’s one reason that our team enjoys celebrating the accomplishments of the Fastcase 50. These are people who inspire us by their intelligence, creativity, and leadership. We hope they will inspire others as well, especially during a time of great change for the profession.”

This is the sixth class of Fastcase 50 honorees, and for a sixth consecutive year, the company received a record number of nominees. It was a challenging task to select only 50 individuals to join the classes of 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015. Fastcase is happy to introduce the Fastcase 50 Class of 2016.

Congratulations to the following Fastcase 50 award recipients:

Ray Abadin, Partner, Sedgwick LLP
Janet Howe Accardo, Library Director (Retired), Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Marvin Ammori, General Counsel, Hyperloop One
Peter Aprile, Founder, Counter Tax Lawyers
Andrew Arruda, CEO and Co-Founder, ROSS Intelligence
Alma Asay, Founder and CEO, Allegory
Shelby Austin, Manager of Legal Project Solutions, Deloitte
Tim Baran, Content Director, Rocket Matter
Cathryn Bowie, State Law Librarian, Oregon Judicial Department
Mark Cohen, CEO and Founder, Legal Mosaic
David Colarusso, Data Scientist, Massachusetts Committee for Public Counsel Services
Vincent Cordo, Global Sourcing Officer, Shell
Jameson Dempsey, Co-Founder, DC Legal Hackers; Associate, Kelley Drye
Lyle Denniston, Dean Emeritus of the Supreme Court Press Corps
Randy Dryer, Professor of Law, University of Utah
Mark Edwards, Professor, Mitchell Hamline School of Law
Zev Eigen, Global Director of Data Analytics, Littler Mendelson
Michael Genesereth, Associate Professor of Computer Science, Stanford
Karen Gifford, Author; COO, Ripple Labs
Risa Goluboff, Dean, University of Virginia School of Law
Ross Guberman, President, Legal Writing Pro
Kirsten Gullickson, Senior Systems Analyst for the Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives
Vanita Gupta, U.S. Attorney General for the Civil Rights Division, Department of Justice
Jack Harkness, Executive Director, The Florida Bar
Eric Holder, Former U.S. Attorney General; Partner, Covington and Burling
Hudson Hollister, Executive Director, Data Coalition
Mary Juetten, Founder and CEO, Traklight; Co-Founder of Evolve Law
Kristine Knab, Executive Director, Legal Services of Northern Florida; Author
Nehal Madhani, CEO and Founder, Alt Legal
Katherine Mazzaferri, CEO, District of Columbia Bar
Jack Metzler, Attorney, Federal Trade Commission
Jules Miller, Co-founder and COO, Hire an Esquire; Co-Founder, Evolve Law
Tammie Nelson, Senior Project Manager; Library of Congress
Robert (Bob) Oaks, Chief Library and Records Officer (Retired), Latham & Watkins
Kevin O’Keefe, CEO and Founder, LexBlog
Michelle Olsen, Creator, @AppellateDaily
Kimball Parker, Founder, CO/COUNSEL
Donna Payne, Author; CEO, Payne Group
Michael Sander, CEO, Docket Alarm
Daniel Schuman, Policy Director, Demand Progress; Creator, OpenGov Jobs list
Julia Shapiro, Co-founder and CEO, Hire an Esquire; Co-Founder, Evolve Law
Wallace E. “Gene” Shipp Jr., Disciplinary Counsel, District of Columbia Office of Disciplinary Counsel
John Simek, Vice President, Sensei Enterprises
Jason Steed, Associate, Bell Nunnally & Martin LLP
John Stewart, Partner, Rossway Swan Tierney Barry Lacey & Oliver
Gabriel (Gabe) Teninbaum, Professor, Suffolk University Law School
Mark Unger, Founder, The Unger Law Firm
Robert Van Nest, Partner, Keker & Van Nest
Corry van Zeeland, Head of Justice Innovation Law, Hague Institute for the Internationalisation of Law; Senior Researcher and Managing Director, Tisco Research Institute at Tilburg University
Roland Vogl, Executive Director, Stanford CodeX

Fastcase 50 recipients will be celebrated during the 2016 American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) annual meeting July 16-19 in Chicago, Illinois.

To view profiles of each of the winners and to learn more about the Fastcase 50 award, visit

About Fastcase

Fastcase is a leading legal publisher focused on smarter legal software that democratizes the law, making it more accessible to more people. Using patented software that combines the best of legal research with the best of Web search, Fastcase helps busy users sift through the clutter, ranking the best cases first and enabling the re-sorting of results to find answers fast. Founded in 1999, Fastcase is one of the fastest-growing legal tech companies, with more than 800,000 subscribers from around the world. Fastcase is an American company based in Washington, D.C. For more information, follow Fastcase on Twitter at @Fastcase or visit




#1 Legal Research App

Winner of the prestigious American Association of Law Libraries (New Product) Award, Fastcase for iOS, Android, and Windows Phone is used by more attorneys than any other legal app according to the ABA. Anyone may use the app for free to access Fastcase's comprehensive legal research database on the go.